Mixed-Up Pumpkin beer

Mixed-Up Pumpkin

This year I brewed my very own pumpkin beer recipe for the second time. Last year I tapped it around Thanksgiving and called it “Liquid Thanksgiving” arriving with “Obamination”, a Belgian Dubbel we brewed at the same time. But this year it was just in time for Halloween so it earned the name, “Mixed-up Pumpkin”. The “mixed-up” part came from using some leftover hops and an amalgam of other ingredients pulled from other recipes and out of thin air, when I wrote the recipe last year.

obamination-thanksgivingAs you can see by the hops in the pumpkin in the drawing for last year’s beer, it was a hoppy beer. It had 3 oz. of hops and only 8 lbs of liquid extract and some grains, which turned out to be not very balanced. So this year I turned down the hops and upped the malt quite a bit. I also found you don’t need to over-do the pumpkin. I had read pumpkin beer recipes that used a shit-ton of pumpkin- like 2.5 lbs- so I used the same. Too much. It doesn’t settle out and you don’t need much to get the hint of pumpkin.

So this year I carefully adjusted all parts of the recipe. The hops were spare ones I had in the fridge but I made sure to read up on them before I used them. It turned out to be a rich, sweet, and spicy beer. It had all the flavors of pumpkin pie resting on a solid beer flavor base. Give it a try, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! I didn’t get a picture because a group of 18 of us finished the whole keg in one night.

  • 9 oz. Light Crystal grains
  • 9 oz. Belgian Biscuit grains
  • 10.5 lbs. liquid light extract
  • 1 29 oz. can Libby’s pumpkin pre-baked at 350° for 1 hr.
  • 2/3 oz. Spalt @ :60 mins
  • 1/4 oz. Fuggles @ :30 mins
  • 1/3 oz. Willamette @ :30 mins
  • 1 tsp. of each: Allspice, Cinnamon, Nutmeg @ :5 mins
  • 1/2 tsp. of Ginger @ :5 mins
  • 1 tsp. Irish moss @ :5 mins
  • Yeast: Wyeast Activator – Denny’s Favorite
  • O.G. – 1.080, F.G. – 1.024 = 7.4% ABV
3 thoughts on “Mixed-Up Pumpkin beer

  1. Albert says:

    At what point did you ad the pumpkin. I am in the process of designing my own pumpkin ale and yours sounds very nice.

Leave a Reply

